top of page

Travel Essentials

A quick disclaimer: I am not saying you NEED these items for travelling I am merely saying that these exact items have worked wonders for me whilst on my adventures. So please don't feel like you have to go out and purchase, These are just suggestions and you can get similar and cheaper with a bit of research.

- A Rucksack (Fjallraven Kanken): is the brand of rucksack I swear by! Its waterproof, strain proof and a very sturdy. You can get these cheaper on different websites/apps so it might be worth looking into if you are interested in getting one. I've had this rucksack for a while now and I've definitely got my moneys worth on my adventures. It comes in a variety of colours and there are lots on sale at the moment but just wanted to link the colour I have.

- Baseball cap: Baseball caps have been a blessing whilst on my travels for a bad hair day, the keep the sun out of my eyes and to prevent sunburn on my face, to cover my face whilst sleeping and even a holder to keep phones and things out of the sand whilst on the beach. I know there are plenty of great hat brands out there but I've always found Nike caps to do the job.

- Old shoes: I was going to clean mine in the image above for the picture but I wouldn't do that for my travels so whats the point in doing it for this. I have had these nike trainers for about 3 years now. I brought them in an Office sale and they were £20!!! I take theses everywhere with me and they are so comfy.

- PASSPORT!!!!!: This doesn't even need a little description as it is so god damn important. (An up to date passport that is, make sure you always check the expiry date when it comes to holidays/travelling)

- Travel wallet: This is from Stella & Dot and was given to me as a Christmas present a while back but I've always used it as a travel walled due to it having 2 separate zip compartments for documents, card dividers and a mirror which I've found helpful while away. I think its meant to be used as a clutch bag but I prefer it as a wallet and doubles up as a clutch whilst on my travels. There are plenty of really cute travel wallets online and even some great personalised ones too, definitely worth doing a bit of research to find the right one for you.

- Travel money card: I've really found this useful on my travels and its linked to an app on my phone where I can keep topping it up along the way (at the end of your travels you can also get your remaining balance converted back in to pounds). The helpline for this card is super great as well, when I lost mine in Italy whilst on a ski season I had such much help in getting me a new one sent out.

- Eyemask: Mine is from primark but you can get loads of cute ones from lots of different shops (I also have a beautiful unicorn one from primark but have linked a really cheap unicorn one above) These are great for flights, hostels or hotels, anywhere your trying to get a bit of shut eye. I am a crazy light sleeper and the slightest of movement, sound or bit of light will wake me. So I've found this to really be a god sent. If you don't want to use an eye mask I have always found a beanie hat works too, I just pull it further down my face and it does the trick.

- Ear plugs: As I mentioned above I'm a crazy light sleeper so ear plugs are FAB! I used to hate them the thought of having something in your ears kind of freaked me out, but over time I have become used to them and they work really well for me.

- Travel mirror: Mine is a standard primark plastic mirror but you can get there anywhere really. The one I use has a standard mirror side, a zoomed in side and a little stand which is always helpful. This works a treat when everyone is fighting over the tiny mirror in the hostel bathroom before a night out!

- Tissues: I don't know if its just me or not but I ALWAYS get a runny nose of planes so tissues go a long way. I don't go anywhere without primark tissues, they are crazy cheap and you get like 6 packs (don't quote me on that) but they are great!

- Slipper socks: You can these pretty much anywhere but I always have a few primark pairs lying around. I have really poor circulation in my hands and feet which means they are cold 90% of the time so having little slipper socks to slide over my actual socks is really great. I've linked some I found on amazon which I thought were sweet but you can find some almost anywhere.

- Make up wipes(I normally use Primark as they are cheap but the ones in the picture are Superdrug): Is an actual must in life! They will make you feel so fresh after any journey, clean your hands, clean an accidental spillages in your bag. It does anything really its a lifesaver, the amount of times I've grazed a knee or cut my finger and worried about cleaning it up due to having dirty hands...wipes to the rescue.

- Plasters(I tend to go for the boots washproof ones, as they work best for me): I don't really go anywhere without plasters in my bag, they come in so handy. You'll be surprised how loved you are by people in hostels when they are in need of a plaster for blisters on there feet from long days out walking! Its made me many of friends whilst on my travels.

- Cotton buds: These come in handy for anything really... The standard cleaning your ears, fixing makeup mistakes, cleaning cuts or wounds. Good to have just in case!

- Hair brush: I've had this hair brush for so long now! I am definitely due an upgrade but it is fantastic. I'm pretty sure it comes in different shapes, sizes and colours now but this one has done the job for me. Whether its wet, dry, greasy, matted hair it does it all and has been a life saver to my main over the years.

- Not sure how this item snuck in TWO pictures but it really is a must... MORE TISSUES as you can clearly never have enough.

- Bag organiser: I am so OCD and when It comes to travels I like everything to be in a certain place, so I can find it easily. I purchased a bag organiser from amazon (it comes in lots of different colours) to keep everything tidy in my carry on bag and to my surprise it works an absolute treat!

- Wash bag: This was purchased for me from Christmas by my brother and his wife. I was actually going to buy one for myself but was very happy when it was brought for me. Its like a little barrel and holds so many items inside. Due to the items inside standing up it prevents spillages, Which is fantastic!

- Canvas bag: A canvas bag sounds so silly but these are so important when it comes to travels as they work great for food shopping, general shopping and as a beach bag. You can get them from lots of different shops or you can buy a blank one from amazon and personalise it yourself which I have done. I got it printed on from a local shop, but you can buy letter canvas tote bags from lots of different places.

- Neck pillow: I always try and get as much sleep as possible whilst on a plane so a neck pillow is really important to support your neck so your not aching afterwards. I purchased this from Primark I think a while back so I doubt it is being sold in there anymore. But there are lots of places you can get these from, in lots of different colours, styles and materials (memory foam or beaded). I've linked on similar in a different pattern, I also like that it has a hook at the top to attach to your carry on bag.

- Carabiner hooks: Is an item I just can't live without on my travels and I know it sounds odd. But I have two brothers who are tree surgeons and they swear by these hooks (obviously ones a bit sturdier than the amazon ones), having borrowed theres so much I decided to get some cheap ones of my own. I use them to hook items onto my rucksack such as wet swimwear or clothing, flipflops/shoes, hats, towels and so many other items.

- Headphones: I use the apple headphones that come with my iPhone as I've always found they work great and haven't had any problems as of yet (touch wood!) but I do take a spare with me just incase one set goes missing.

- Portable charger (Juice Weekender): I've had this portable charger for a few years now and it has travelled all over with me. It lasts AGES and charges a variety of different devices. Its been to festivals, ski trips, road trips and so many more. I can't recommend this item enough, I have it in pink but it comes in a variety of different colours.

- Bag scales: My bag scales are from Primark but you can find ones just as good on Amazon. I am a serial shopper and have found myself in situations while travelling where my bag struggles to shut! I worry so much about going over the weight limit at the airport and this device puts me at ease knowing I won't have to pay loads extra.

- Headphone splitter: I am pretty sure I got this from a Christmas cracker many moons ago but has really helped me out on my adventures. Especially when watching Netflix's in a hostel bunk with friends.

- Ipod: I've had my iPod for YEARS and it's full of songs I probably haven't heard in so long, but I wouldn't go anywhere without it. I try not to have music on my phone as it drains so much memory and I need that for valuable picture taking! I brought this second hand of someone online and its done the trick fo me. Facebook market place sells lots of older, second hand iPods which will work just as good.

- Extra charging leads (for phone, iPod, camera and any other devices): I always travel with more than one iPhone lead as on many occasions I have left leads in hostels or lost them along the way so its always good to have a spare, save buying another whilst away.

- Travel adaptor: Now that technology is advancing you don't need to be different adaptors for different countries you can just go and buy one that has all of the different adaptors built in one... GENIUS!

You really can't go wrong with this.

- The newest addition to my collection is the Fitbit Alta: I was debating whether to go for a Fitbit or an Apple Watch but found this Fitbit on facebook marketplace for £25 and just couldn't say no! To my surprise I actually love it, it reminds me to keep active and I can monitor my sleep, food, water intake and so much more on the app.

I definitely recommend it!

This item truly deserves it's own section!

- Gopro3+Silver: I currently have the Gopro3+Silver which I am looking to update for the Gopro 7 Black. I have had the Gopro3+Silver for a few years now and it's been amazing and has done the job for me, but it is time for me to update. Gopro is great for travels and I wouldn't take another camera away with me. Its sturdy, waterproof in its cage and the quality of the shops is just great!

- Gopro pole: I originally purchased this pole whilst travelling in New Zealand and then purchased another when at home in a different length. This is such a great pole as it sturdy and I haven't had any problems with it over the years. It also comes in a variety of different colours and sizes, worth having a look.

- Gopro Tripod (Small)/Gopro Tripod(Medium) : Both the tripods can be used for other camera's and phones. They are great for time-lapse, filming and self-timer shots. I purchased a small and a medium, I was unsure as to what size I was looking for and they both work great.

- Gopro wrist housing: I purchased this whilst travelling in New Zealand to wear this for Bungee jumping. Its such a great item and worked perfectly whilst filming, I did plan on using whilst skydiving but due to them already filming I didn't see the point in taking something extra up with me.


I know its a lot to take in and I apologise for the long post but these are just some of the items I always take away with me. They have worked great for me and if you have any questions about any of the items let me know, I'm more than happy to help out!



34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page